This Has got to Stop!!

Print

Just a couple of months back, a young lady by the name of Mirfat aka Susan received what some would say, some much deserved heat on social media on how she choose to act on a popular dating show called Tujuane. Yeah, yeah, we all remember, she demeaned Mr. George, self-proclaimed, ‘mse wa ghetto,’ on how he talked, how he dressed, where he lived and for me the cherry on the cake was how he paid for the bill, and I quote ‘with plastic money’.

Mirfat was hella funny and portrayed herself to be super arrogant and super blonde, seriously who fences in Nairobi??  I defo joined the band wagon and was part of the thousands who shared and retweeted memes of her on social media. At the time it was innocent fun and I really dint think it meant anything. I mean she did treat George in not a way cool.

Over the months though, we’ve seen different media personalities receive flak for what they did or wrote. For instance Caroline Mutoko was ‘killed’ on Facebook and for one Ciku Muiruri the reactions seen on twiiter after appearing on a clip recently aired on telly were explicit and profane.

A couple of days ago, I noticed a trending topic on twitter about a radio presenter. Thinking it’s no biggie and maybe a little fun I clicked on it. And anywho, isn’t twitter where we seem to get breaking news?

What I saw and read was not quite what I expected. Many of the tweets were outright insulting. The said presenter was viciously attacked for no absolute reason apart from her weight. I was surprised that some of the tweets that were utterly offensive were retweeted many, many times. Granted, a retweet may not necessarily mean an endorsement but at the very least, it is a deliberate act to pass on something one would consider news worthy.

What saddened me the most was that some influential peeps were the ones that somewhat spear headed the whole attack on this young, talented and lovely young lady. Me being me, I focus on the positive, I loved that fact that there were some on tweetoshere ‘got her back’, posting and retweeting words of encouragement.

Is it acceptable to post snide and nasty remarks about a person and then broadcast them far and wide? Yes the internet is worldwide. Is it acceptable to harass an individual because of their appearance? Is it now ok to attack someone because they’re too black or because of their sexual orientation? Think about it!!

the-world-is-a-dangerous-placeA wise man once said, ‘all it takes for evil to triumph is for good men to do nothing.’

This is me not standing by and letting cyber bullying continue. This is me saying, attacks like this are not okay. This is me declaring, it is wrong when we sit back and do nothing about it. This culture has got to STOP.

Also, in the words of Janet Mbugua, “THE INTERNET is a place to connect, spread love, share, meet new people, interact and enjoy! But have we taken the ‘enjoy’ part a little too far?

I’m not blaming the internet or social media; millions of people use the internet and social networks every day to connect with friends, find jobs, raise awareness and spread positivity. All I want us to remember is we do need to be aware on how we use it. Parting words are not mine but really really touched me. So,Maya Angelou, take it away, “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

Hope you see the light now. PEACE 🙂

tumblr_lhf2pe8VgR1qcc147o1_400

2 thoughts on “This Has got to Stop!!”

  1. in this cyber world people take advantage of the fact that you cant see thier faces, so you cant pin their acts to them. its very sad

    1. True Tamrat. It just shows how sad, cowardly and pathetic some one is for attacking someone for no apparent reason. I hope you take a stand when you see it, coz the way things are going, I’m not sure this will stop anytime soon. WE do need to speak up and stand up about it. Hope the perpetrators of such acts live and learn from all the name calling – thats exactly what it is and it really stopped being cool at some point.

Leave a Reply

